State Laws

State Profile

State Website


Abdulkarim Kana

Attorney-General of Nasarawa State, (2018 -)


Dr. Abdulkarim Abubakar Kana is the Honourable Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice. He holds a Ph.D. in Law from the prestigious University of Jos, Nigeria. He was ap­pointed a Notary Public by the Chief Justice of Nigeria in the year 2012.


Dr. Kana was the Dean of the Faculty of Law Nasarawa State University, Keffi-Nigeria from 2014 to 2017. He was elected the Presi­dent of the Nigerian Association of Law Teachers (NALT) in the year 2015. He was also elected the First Vice Chairman of the Nigeria Bar Association, Keffi Branch. He was the Honourable Commissioner for Water Resources and Rural Development of Nasarawa State from the year 2017 to 2018. His research areas are Criminal Law, Law of Evidence, International Law and Jurisprudence. His research is specifically on corrup­tion, economic financial crimes.


He is among the pioneer staff of the Faculty of Law Nasarawa State University in the year 2002. He is the author of many peer-reviewed publications and books.


He was a member of Nigeria’s Council of Legal Education and for many years now the Counsel to the National Judicial Council of Nigeria. His book Corruption, Development and the Law in Nigeria was published in the year 2014. In 2003, he founded Kana & Co, a Law Firm with offices in Keffi and Abuja Nigeria and about 15 lawyers currently engaged in active law practice spanning all areas of law with an interesting focus on pro bono and community service.


Dr. Kana currently serves as a member of the Nasarawa State Executive Council. He was also a Member of National Council on Water of Nigeria and the National Council on Power of Nigeria. As the Dean of NSUKLAW, he pioneered the Faculty’s graduate programme and establishing one of the most robust Postgraduate programme in Africa.


He joins a roll-call of former Attorneys-General of Nasarawa State, a list which includes:

Roll-Call of Attorneys-General of Nasarawa State

Abdulkarim Abubakar Kana (March 28, 2018 – Date)

Yusuf Shehu Usman (Nov. 2015 – 2018)

Lagi Innocent (May 2013 – 2018)

Mohammed Sani Yakubu Hauwa (April 2013 – May 2013)

Mahammed Hassan Abdullahi (Nov. 2011 – April 2013)

Suleman Nchi (Nov. 2007 – March 2010)

Musa Husseini (March, 2006-Oct. 2006)

Mohammed Hassam Abdulahi (Sept. 2003 – Oct. 2005)

Adabson T. Sarkin Panda II (1999 – 2003)

Markus B. Idakula (Aug. 1997 – May 1999)


Attorneys-General in Nasarawa State are political appointee who work with career Solicitors-General/Permanent Secretaries in the Ministry of Justice, Nasarawa State. The Roll-call include:


Roll-Call of Solicitors-General  and Permanent Secretaries, Ministry of Justice, Nasarawa State
Ishaku Usman 
Abigail Nbasu Waya
Simon O. Aboki
Aisha Ahmed 
Mohammed Idris Apa
Asma’u Labai Yusuf
Simon O. Aboki
Anthony Akika

Ministry of Justice,

Shendam Road, Lafia,

Nasarawa State,

08051030891, info@nsmoj.com

error: Our Content is protected!! Contact us to get the resources...

Subscribe To Our Newsletter